Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

Board of Trustees

The Santa Clara Unified School District Board of Trustees is comprised of seven members who serve four-year terms and are elected by different trustee areas in the school district.Citizen oversight of local government is the cornerstone of democracy in the United States. School board members are locally elected public officials entrusted with governing a community’s public schools. The role of the school board is to ensure that school districts are responsive to the values, beliefs, and priorities of their communities. Boards fulfill this role by performing five major responsibilities:

  • Setting direction

  • Establishing an effective and efficient structure

  • Providing support

  • Ensuring accountability

  • Providing community leadership as advocates for children, the school district, and public schools

These five responsibilities represent core functions that are so fundamental to a school system’s accountability to the public that they can only be performed by an elected governing body. Authority is granted to the board as a whole, not each member individually. Therefore, board members fulfill these responsibilities by working together as a governance team with the superintendent to make decisions that will best serve all the students in the community.

Contact

Jean Burrell
Assistant to the Superintendent
(408) 423-2006
jburrell@scusd.net

Board of Trustees and Superintendent
boardmembers@scusd.net

Upcoming Meetings

View Calendar

Board Members

Vickie Fairchild Board President

Board
President

Vickie Fairchild
(408) 408-423-2006
vjfairchild@scusd.net

Term Ends:
November 2026
Trustee Area 3

Bonnie Lieberman Board Vice President

Board
Vice President

Bonnie Lieberman
(408) 423-2006
blieberman@scusd.net

Term Ends:
November 2024
Trustee Area 7

Jim Canova Board Clerk

Board
Clerk

Jim Canova
(408) 423-2006
jcanova@scusd.net

Term Ends:
November 2026
Trustee Area 1

Albert Gonzalez Board Member

Board
Member

Albert Gonzalez
(408) 246-6252
asgonzalez@scusd.net

Term Ends:
November 2024
Trustee Area 2

Jodi Muirhead Board Member

Board
Member

Jodi Muirhead
(408) 444-6160
jmuirhead@scusd.net

Term Ends:
November 2026
Trustee Area 6

Andrew Ratermann Board Member

Board
Member

Andrew Ratermann
(408) 423-2006
aratermann@scusd.net

Term Ends:
November 2026
Trustee Area 4

Michele Ryan Board Member

Board
Member

Michele Ryan, Ph.D.
(408) 673-1620
mryan@scusd.net

Term Ends:
November 2024
Trustee Area 5

Luis Valdes

Student Board Member

Luis Valdes

 

Term Ends:
June 2024